Medical Advisors

Paul M. Karpecki, OD FAAO—Chief Optometric Medical Advisor

Paul M. Karpecki, OD FAAO has served FOCUS Laboratories as Chief Optometric Medical Advisor since April 2008. In this role, Dr. Karpecki assists FOCUS….  He currently works at the Koffler Vision Group in Lexington, KY where he focuses on corneal disease, ocular surface disease, and clinical research. (fact checks or need more information)

A noted educator and author, Dr. Karpecki lectures on new technology, surgical advancements and therapeutics with an emphasis on cornea and external disease. He has spoken at over 400 symposia covering four continents and is the first Optometrist to be invited to both the Delphi International Society at Wilmer-John's Hopkins and the National Eye Institute's Dry Eye Committee. 

He graduated from Indiana University and completed a fellowship in cornea and refractive surgery at Hunkeler Eye Centers in affiliation with the Pennsylvania College of Optometry in 1994. Dr. Karpecki presently serves on eight professional journal editorial boards, is a past president of the Optometric Council on Refractive Technology, the Chair of the Refractive Surgery Advisory Board to the American Optometric Association (AOA), Chairman of the Topical Interest Group in Refractive Surgery, Chairman of the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeon’s Task Force on the Integrated Eye-Care Delivery System, Chairman of the Kentucky Optometric Association Education Committee and serves on the AOA Congresses Education Committee.

Dr. Karpecki is also a board member of optometry's largest charity, Optometry Giving Sight, which serves over six million people around the world each year with vision care needs.

Marguerite McDonald, MD

Marguerite McDonald, MD has been a member of the FOCUS Laboratories Medical Advisory team since May 2010.

Currently, Dr. McDonald serves as the cornea/refractive/anterior segment specialist for the Ophthalmic Consultants of Long Island in Lynbrook, NY and is presently an Adjunct Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology at Tulane University School of Medicine in New Orleans and a Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology at New York University (NYU) in Manhattan. Dr. McDonald also serves as a staff physician at Manhattan Eye Ear and Throat Hospital in New York City, as well as at the Island Eye Center in Carle Place, New York.

 Dr. McDonald received her medical degree from Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, followed by an internship at Lenox Hill Hospital and ophthalmology residency at Manhattan Eye Ear and Throat Hospital/Cornell, both in New York City, and a fellowship in corneal and external diseases with Dr. Herbert E. Kaufman at the LSU Eye Center in New Orleans. Ms. McDonald joined the faculty at the LSU Eye Center in 1981. Since then she has become well known in the field of refractive surgery, with 477 abstracts, 79 books and book chapters, 45 interviews/panel discussions/CD ROMs/videos, and 179 peer reviewed and 280 non-peer reviewed articles published on various refractive topics.

 Dr. McDonald was the second physician in the United States and the third physician in the world to perform CK (Conductive Keratoplasty) for farsightedness and was the first North American surgeon to perform Epi-LASIK in September 2003. 

Scientific Advisor

Frank J. Holly, Ph.D., FAAO—Founder and Inventor of FreshKote®

Dr. Frank J. Holly is one of the world’s foremost scientists with a unique understanding of the ocular surface and has served FOCUS Laboratories as a medical advisor since 2005. Dr. Holly developed the safest and most effective ophthalmic solution APL105, now marketed by FOCUS Laboratories as FreshKote®.  With a career of over 50 years in academia and research and development, Dr. Holley is an invaluable resource and advisor to FOCUS Laboratories.

Dr. Holly graduated with a chemical engineering degree from the Technical University of Budapest, Hungary. He received a doctorate in physical chemistry at Cornell University in 1962, and later began ten years of research with Harvard University’s Schepen’s Eye Institute, in the Cornea Research Department. In 1977, while still at Harvard University, Dr. Holly and Dr. Michael Lemp published the landmark study to quantify the three human tear film layers, which remains the industry standard to this day. Additionally, Dr. Holly’s major contributions to ophthalmology include the description of the hydrophobic character of the corneal epithelium surface and the discovery of the actual cause of dry spot formation as the local non-wetting of the eye, rather than local drying. 

In 1978, Dr. Holly joined the newly formed Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences at Texas Tech University Health Science Center and was named Professor of Ophthalmology and Biochemistry in 1981. In 1987, Dr. Holly started his own research and development company and later took an early retirement from academia to devote more time to writing and research.

He is the author of more than 150 articles and book chapters and the editor of several book treatises. He organized and managed the world’s first International Tear Film Symposium, brining together over 200 human tear researchers on the diagnosis and treatment of dry eye syndrome.